The last two weeks since I am here passed really fast. Probably, because I always have something to do. Nico, the one volunteer left, and it’s now Andy, who is a new guy from Austria, Stella and me running the hostel.

Work is different every day. We have three shifts: Morning from 6 a.m. – 11.30 a.m., Midday from 11 a.m – 4 p.m. and Night from 4 p.m. – 9 p.m. However, we always help each other out when something has to be done.

Even though I am not a morning guy, I do not have any problems with getting up so early. That’s probably because I motivate me with going surfing when I am done with the morning duties, the sea is calm and no one else is in the water.

Every shift consists of some basic routine like feeding the dog and cat, making sure the common area of the hostel looks neat, cooking for everyone and so on. In additon to that we have different bigger projects around the hostel such as wood work in the hostel rooms, harvesting coconuts, building a new table, fixing parts of the roof that gets damaged by the rain and storms, helping with the turtle station, removing a red wasp nest or helping on a stand up paddling or fishing tour with guests.

The turtle station, where we put the turtle eggs after the turtles lay them on the beach, is useful to make sure that no one steals them (it’s highly prohibited but they are quite valuable on the black market) and to help the young sea turtles find the water once they hatch. It’s actually quite fun to carry the little turtles to the water as their cover is already fully build. (I will try to get some picture for the next post.)

The following picture shows the 25 nests of the turtle species that usually arrives at our beach. The ones with a piece of wood on them are full. One nest carries around 100 eggs from which (on average) only 1 turtle becomes older than 20-25 years and will be able to reproduce. That is one of the reasons why they are endangered.

Here is a turtle laying it’s eggs:

Here you can see Stella and the “fruit ladies” that come by to sell their fresh fruits. We have a lot of people coming by to sell for example meat, yoghurt or drinks. For the rest we have to drive about 20 minutes to the next big town, Tonosi.

Yesterday we did a Stand Up Paddle trip to a creek about 15 minutes down the beach. We saw some alligator tracks, birds and trees typical for this warm and humid area. Unfortunately, we did not see a live alligator because they are quite shy animals (as long as they have enough food 😉) and stay below in the water. For the trips we usually take this baby:

Here are some pictures of the way:

All in all, I really enjoy my time here. I learn many new and helpful things while working in the hostel such as how to open a coconut with a machete, new dishes in the kitchen (e.g. Mango Chutney and how to bake bread), doing different kind of woodworks, fixing surfboards, fixing watertubes and many other useful skills. I also get to see and to know animals, that are typical for the area, or guests from different parts of the world. Apart from that I enjoy that I am (most of the time) completely disconnected from the internet and have plenty of free time in which I can surf, read, talk to the hostel guest, drink piña colada and reflect all this while writing this blog 😊 hasta pronto, Jonas

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s